We’re finally here. We’re nearing the end of an amazing movie franchise that shook the entire world and probably made people feel that they needed dragon friends in their lives. With the release of the last film that would mark an end to the How to Train Your Dragon trilogy, some of us are probably deciding to go on a roll and binge watch the previous movies before heading to the theaters to watch How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World.


list of the How to Train Your Dragon movies

© DreamWorks


Although that’s a great idea, not a lot of people know that in between the films, Dreamworks has released plenty of television series’ and shorts that serve as fillers and help us get a better understanding of the occurrences that take place after each movie and what happens in between.

To help you with your future endeavors of binge-watching this glorious franchise, here is a list of the How to Train Your Dragon movies, shorts, and series in chronological order:

How to Train Your Dragon (2010, Film)


This is a no-brainer. It’s the first movie of the franchise that Dreamworks released and was the beginning of an important fascination towards dragons from a lot of people.

Legend of the Boneknapper Dragon (2010, Short)


This follows the first movie and follows Hiccup’s journey with his friends to find the legendary bone-clad Dragon.

Book of Dragons (2011, Short)


This short is more comedic and shows Hiccups and his friends explore more about the realm of dragons and find out more about their Dragon friends.

Dragons: Gift of the Night Fury (2011, Short)


I consider this a special Christmas bonus as it shows the residents of Berk preparing for their Winter holidays but inevitably finds out that all their dragons have flown away.

Dragons: Riders of Berk (2012 – 2014, TV Series)


Riders of Berk takes place after the first movie, obviously, and follows Hiccup and the others while they open a Dragon Academy. This is merely the first season and it has 20 episodes.

Dragons: Defenders of Berk (2012 – 2014, TV Series)


This one serves as the second season to ‘Riders of Berk’ but they renamed it to ‘Defenders of Berk’. It still follows the same plot but with different adventures. It also runs 20 episodes.

Dragons: Dawn of the Dragon Racers (2014, TV Short)


A short that explains how Dragon racing was ultimately invented.

Dragons: Race to the Edge (2015 – 2018, TV Series)


This happens a little later, with Hiccup a little grown up. Here, they unlock the secrets of the ‘Dragon Eye’ and they face even more types of Dragons. The gang is still the same but it seems they grew even stronger. This TV Series ran from 2015 to 2018 and ultimately has 4 seasons, with 13 episodes each.

How to Train Your Dragon 2 (2014, Film)


This is the second full-length film after the How to Train Your Dragon. It is also the second part of the trilogy. The story takes part after the aforementioned shorts and series. It follows the adventures of Hiccup, Toothless, and the others, as they discover a cave that is home to hundreds of Dragon species.

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (2019, Film)


The final installment to the trilogy, How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World will tug our heartstring. This is where our favorite heroes reach the end of their journey. A lot of discoveries are made here, including the discovery that Toothless isn’t the last Night Fury. This also lets the gang embark on an adventure to find ‘The Hidden World’ before their enemies find it first.